Watching Babylon: The War in Iraq and Global Visual Culture

1st Edition

Nicholas Mirzoeff

Routledge
Published November 4, 2004
Reference - 216 Pages - 15 B/W Illustrations
ISBN 9780415343107 - CAT# RU27871

For Instructors Request Inspection Copy

was $36.95

USD$29.56

SAVE ~$7.39

Add to Wish List
FREE Standard Shipping!

Summary

Groundbreaking and compelling, Watching Babylon examines the experience of watching the war against Iraq on television, on the internet, in the cinema and in print media.

Mirzoeff shows how the endless stream of images flowing from the Gulf has necessitated a new form of visual thinking, one which recognises that the war has turned images themselves into weapons. Drawing connections between the history and legend of ancient Babylon, the metaphorical Babylon of Western modernity, and everyday life in the modern suburb of Babylon, New York, Mirzoeff explores ancient concerns which have found new resonance in the present day.

In the tradition of Walter Benjamin, Watching Babylon illuminates the Western experience of the Iraqi war and makes us re-examine the very way we look at images of conflict.

Instructors

We provide complimentary e-inspection copies of primary textbooks to instructors considering our books for course adoption.

Request an
e-inspection copy

Share this Title