The Recession Prevention Handbook: Eleven Case Studies, 1948-2007: Eleven Case Studies, 1948-2007

1st Edition

Norman Frumkin

Published May 15, 2010
Reference - 432 Pages
ISBN 9780765622839 - CAT# Y184173

For Instructors Request Inspection Copy


Currently out of stock
Add to Wish List
FREE Standard Shipping!


The United States has endured eleven recessions since the end of World War II, including the recession of 2007-2009. This book focuses on the performance of the economy and the actions taken during the expansion period before the onset of each recession. It's goal is to help prevent or at least lessen the severity of possible future recessions. Well-known economics writer Arthur Frumkin analyzes each of the eleven contemporary recessions to determine: What weaknesses appeared in the economy during the twelve months preceding the onset of the recession? What were economic forecasters predicting? What economics policy actions were taken by the Federal Reserve, the president, and Congress? Incorporating extensive real-time data, Frumkin points to persistent failures over the past sixty years by the Federal Reserve and the president to forecast or to acknowledge the possibility of future recessions. Based on these findings, he concludes with a range of policy recommendations for avoiding or ameliorating future recessions.


We provide complimentary e-inspection copies of primary textbooks to instructors considering our books for course adoption.

Request an
e-inspection copy

Share this Title