The Privacy of the Self

1st Edition

Masud Khan

Routledge
Published December 31, 1996
Reference - 340 Pages
ISBN 9781855751354 - CAT# K377675

For Instructors Request Inspection Copy

USD$56.95

Add to Wish List
FREE Standard Shipping!

Summary

The Privacy of the Self was the first collection of papers showing the development of the author's thinking over twenty five years of clinical work. He was nurtured in the tradition of Anna Freud, John Rickman and D.W. Winnicott, but his contribution to psychoanalytic literature was a distinctive and personal one. What emerges from this book is the natural and private crystallization of his experiences with his patients and teachers.As he says in his preface: "Psychoanalysis is an extremely private discipline of sensibility and skill. The practice of psychoanalysis multiplies this privacy into a specialized relationship between two persons, who through the very nature of their exclusivity with each other change each other. The first thing I wish to say about my work reported in these papers is that my patients have helped me become and personalize my potential of thought, affectivity and effort into a way of life that I find deeply satisfying.

Instructors

We provide complimentary e-inspection copies of primary textbooks to instructors considering our books for course adoption.

Request an
e-inspection copy

Share this Title