The Plays and Poems of Nicholas Rowe, Volume V: Lucan’s Pharsalia (Books IV-X)

1st Edition

Stephen Bernard, Robin Sowerby

Published October 19, 2016
Reference - 306 Pages
ISBN 9781138689657 - CAT# Y286044
Series: The Pickering Masters


Add to Wish List
FREE Standard Shipping!


Nicholas Rowe was the first Poet Laureate of the Georgian era. A fascinating and important yet largely overlooked figure in eighteenth-century literature, he is the ‘lost Augustan’. His plays are important both for the way they address the political and social concerns of the day and for reflecting a period in which the theatre was in crisis. This edition sets out to demonstrate Rowe’s mastery of the early eighteenth century theatre, especially his providing significant roles for women, and examines the political and historical stances of his plays. It also highlights his work as a translator, which was both innovative and deeply in tune with current practices as exemplified by John Dryden and Alexander Pope. This is the first scholarly edition of all Rowe’s plays and poems and is accompanied by 15 musical scores and 31 black and white illustrations.

In this final volume the second part of his translation of Lucan’s Pharsalia, described by Samuel Johnson as one of the greatest productions in English poetry, is presented along with some his own original poetry. A newly written explanatory introduction to the Pharsalia by Stephen Bernard precedes the full edited text in volume IV. Appendices covering the related music and textual apparatus are also included. The edition comes with a consolidated bibliography for ease of reference.

Share this Title