The Plays and Poems of Nicholas Rowe, Volume IV: Poems and Lucan’s Pharsalia (Books I-III)

1st Edition

Stephen Bernard, Robin Sowerby

Published October 19, 2016
Reference - 302 Pages
ISBN 9781138762060 - CAT# Y222070
Series: The Pickering Masters


Add to Wish List
FREE Standard Shipping!


Nicholas Rowe was the first Poet Laureate of the Georgian era. A fascinating and important yet largely overlooked figure in eighteenth-century literature, he is the ‘lost Augustan’. His plays are important both for the way they address the political and social concerns of the day and for reflecting a period in which the theatre was in crisis. This edition sets out to demonstrate Rowe’s mastery of the early eighteenth century theatre, especially his providing significant roles for women, and examines the political and historical stances of his plays. It also highlights his work as a translator, which was both innovative and deeply in tune with current practices as exemplified by John Dryden and Alexander Pope. This is the first scholarly edition of all Rowe’s plays and poems and is accompanied by 15 musical scores and 31 black and white illustrations.

In this fourth volume his poetry and the first part of his translation of Lucan's Pharsalia, described by Samuel Johnson as one of the greatest productions in English poetry, is presented. A newly written explanatory introduction by Stephen Bernard to the poems, and by Robin Sowerby to the Pharsalia, precedes each of full edited texts. The second part of the text and textual apparatus are included with the fifth volume of this edition. A consolidated bibliography is also included with the final volume for ease of reference.

Share this Title