The Music of Joonas Kokkonen

1st Edition

Edward Jurkowski

Published November 29, 2017
Reference - 233 Pages
ISBN 9780815398011 - CAT# K344803


Add to Wish List
FREE Standard Shipping!


Joonas Kokkonen (1921-1996) has been one of the most performed Finnish composers during the past 25 years both within Finland and abroad.The author's study of Joonas Kokkonen is the first full-scale account in English. Starting with a brief survey of Finnish music during the 20th century, the book then devotes a separate chapter to each of the major genres in which Kokkonen composed: symphonic, orchestral, vocal, chamber and keyboard. Illustrated with over a hundred music examples, The Music of Joonas Kokkonen seeks to overturn his reputation in some quarters as a conservative, even old fashioned, composer, and argues that Kokkonen created an interesting and refreshing approach to dodecaphonic composition and pitch organization. With a full chronological listing of works and bibliography, this book is the most important reference source to date on Kokkonen and his music." "Book Description: One of the most performed Finnish composers during the last 25 years, Joonas Kokkonen (1921-1996) was also instrumental in the development of the nation's system of music education. In this study,the author (music, U. of Lethbridge, Canada) examines Kokkonen's compositions in each of five major genres: symphonic, orchestral, vocal, chamber, and key

Share this Title