The Baroque Composers: 5-Volume Set

1st Edition

David Ledbetter

Published February 25, 2011
Reference - 2948 Pages
ISBN 9780754629030 - CAT# Y238234
Series: The Baroque Composers

For Instructors Request Inspection Copy

was $1,905.00


SAVE ~$381.00

Add to Wish List
FREE Standard Shipping!


Our knowledge of music of the Baroque era has been transformed in recent decades, not least because of the revolution in performing styles and techniques. This series dedicates a volume to each of the central composers - Monteverdi, Purcell, Vivaldi, J.S. Bach and Handel - and brings together selected essays which are significant in terms of their contribution to the progress of thought in their field. These include studies in biography, sources, analysis and genre, reception, performance and more, as relevant to each individual composer. Each volume is edited by a leading authority and includes a substantial introduction which outlines the main developments in recent scholarship, provides context for the selected essays, and points the reader to other crucial items in the rich literature. This series make readily available important articles from publications of restricted circulation that are difficult to access, and is invaluable for researchers and students keen to keep abreast of the immense development of musicology since the mid-twentieth century.


We provide complimentary e-inspection copies of primary textbooks to instructors considering our books for course adoption.

Request an
e-inspection copy

Share this Title