Tele-ology: Studies in Television

1st Edition

John Hartley

Routledge
Published April 2, 1992
Reference - 256 Pages
ISBN 9780415068185 - CAT# RU9908

For Instructors Request Inspection Copy

was $45.95

USD$36.76

SAVE ~$9.19

Add to Wish List
FREE Standard Shipping!

Summary

Teleology brings together John Hartley's work on television. The book draws on current critical theory in cultural studies to develop a wide-ranging and thought-provoking view of television broadcasting in Britain, Australia and the USA.
Neighbours, Hancock's Half Hour, Dallas, Monty Python, Miami Vice, Beverly Hillbillies and Bonanza are among the examples of TV art that are discussed in Hartley's exploration of cultural politics. He takes in TV truth and propaganda; populism in the news; mythologies of the audience; TV drama as a `photopoetic' genre in the tradition of Shakespeare; Kylie Minogue, Madonna and gardening shows.

Instructors

We provide complimentary e-inspection copies of primary textbooks to instructors considering our books for course adoption.

Request an
e-inspection copy

Share this Title