Schoenberg's Chamber Symphonies: The Crystallization and Rediscovery of a Style

1st Edition

Catherine Dale

Published November 28, 2019
Reference - 220 Pages
ISBN 9781138711075 - CAT# Y324546
Series: Routledge Revivals


Add to Wish List
FREE Standard Shipping!


This title was first published in 2000:  In this detailed study, Dale (music, U. of Hull) identifies the two chamber symphonies (Opus 9 and Opus 38) that she considers to be pivotal moments in Schoenberg's musical development, and how Opus 38 seeks a reconciliation of tonality and atonality. In addition to analyzing the works, she examines those which preceded Opus 9 and indicate the composer's progression towards atonality. In a similar exploration of pieces surrounding Opus 38, she provides an assessment of the triadic language that became available to the composer in his late tonal and serial works. She also makes reference to Schoenberg's musical sketches, several of which are reproduced in this volume along with other examples from scores.

Share this Title