View All Book Series

BOOK SERIES


Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind


9 Series Titles

Per Page
Sort

Display
Matter, Mind and Meaning

Matter, Mind and Meaning

1st Edition

Whately Carington
September 26, 2016

This volume is concerned with the philosophical foundations of Psychical Research. Traditional metaphysical theories have led to apparently insoluble problems concerning the nature of mind, of matter and the relation between the two. The author holds that these theories arise from misconception...

Brain and Mind: Modern Concepts of the Nature of Mind

Brain and Mind: Modern Concepts of the Nature of Mind

1st Edition

J. R. Smythies
September 26, 2016

Presenting some modern views on the problem of the nature of mind and its relationship to the brain, this book, published in 1965, brings together contributors from various disciplines which are affected by this issue. Coming from different philosophical outlooks as well as subjects, these...

The Mind and the Soul: An Introduction to the Philosophy of Mind

The Mind and the Soul: An Introduction to the Philosophy of Mind

1st Edition

Jenny Teichman
September 26, 2016

The concepts of mind and soul have occupied the thoughts of philosophers throughout the ages and have given rise to numerous conflicting theories. This book provides an incisive and stimulating introduction to central tropics in the philosophy of mind. The author writes about the differences and...

Cybernetics and the Philosophy of Mind

Cybernetics and the Philosophy of Mind

1st Edition

Kenneth Sayre
September 26, 2016

This book, published in 1976, presents an entirely original approach to the subject of the mind-body problem, examining it in terms of the conceptual links between the physical sciences and the sciences of human behaviour. It is based on the cybernetic concepts of information and feedback and on...

The Mental as Physical

The Mental as Physical

1st Edition

Edgar Wilson
September 26, 2016

The central theme of this impressively argued study is that the mental and physical are identical. Drawing heavily on recent scientific research into the mind-brain relationship, Dr Wilson argues that human mentality, rationality and purposefulness are phenomena which come within the compass of...

Values and Intentions: A Study in Value-theory and Philosophy of Mind

Values and Intentions: A Study in Value-theory and Philosophy of Mind

1st Edition

J. N. Findlay
September 26, 2016

Professor Findlay in this book, originally published in 1961, set out to justify, and to some extent carry out, a ‘material value-ethic’, ie. A systematic setting forth of the ends of rational action. The book is in the tradition of Moore, Rashfall, Ross, Scheler and Hartmann though it avoids...

Physicalism

Physicalism

1st Edition

K. V. Wilkes
September 26, 2016

The primary aim of this study is to dissolve the mind-body problem. It shows how the ‘problem’ separates into two distinct sets of issues, concerning ontology on the one hand, and explanation on the other, and argues that explanation – whether or not human behaviour can be explained in physical...

The Embodied Mind

The Embodied Mind

1st Edition

G. N. A. Vesey
September 26, 2016

Originally published in 1965. For hundreds of years the thinking of philosophers, psychologists, and theologians on the problem of the mind’s relation to the body was dominated by the Cartesian notion that mind and matter are distinct substances. That Descartes also held that there is a union of...

Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

1st Edition

Various
November 03, 2014

Reissuing works originally published between 1949 and ‘79, this set presents a rich selection of renowned scholarship across the subject, touching also on ethics, religion, and psychology and other behavioural science. Classic previously out-of-print works are brought back into print here in this...

AJAX loader