Nathaniel Hawthorne: Tales and Sketches, Collected Novels

1st Edition

Millicent Bell, Roy Harvey Pearce

Published September 1, 1997
Reference - 2765 Pages
ISBN 9781579580278 - CAT# RT18972

For Instructors Request Inspection Copy

was $230.00


SAVE ~$34.50

Currently out of stock
Add to Wish List
FREE Standard Shipping!


Tales and Sketches
Hawthorne's short fiction in its entirety: his three collections, Twice-told Tales, Mosses from an Old Manse, and The Snow-Image, along with his tales for children based on Greek myths, The Wonder Book and Tanglewood Tales, plus sixteen previously uncollected short stories. In a unique arrangement, all these stories appear in order of their first publication in periodicals, allowing the reader to experience the work of this masterful writer as it appeared before the American public.

Collected Novels
This second volume rounds off Hawthorne's complete fiction with his five novels. Includes his studies of historic and contemporary New England his acknowledged masterpiece The Scarlet Letter, The House of the Seven Gables, The Blithedale Romance, Fanshawe, written while Hawthorne was still an undergraduate, and his last completed novel of mystery and romance among American artists in Rome, The Marble Faun.


We provide complimentary e-inspection copies of primary textbooks to instructors considering our books for course adoption.

Request an
e-inspection copy

Share this Title