Louis Laloy (1874-1944) on Debussy, Ravel and Stravinsky

1st Edition

Deborah Priest

Published June 5, 2019
Reference - 342 Pages
ISBN 9781138351264 - CAT# K395283
Series: Routledge Revivals

For Instructors Request Inspection Copy

was $135.00


SAVE ~$27.00

Add to Wish List
FREE Standard Shipping!


First published in 1999, this is the first study of the noted French music critic and scholar Louis Laloy, and the first collection of his writings. His writings were unique in their time and have never previously been translated. Laloy’s ideas on Debussy, Ravel and Stravinsky are presented here with an introduction by Deborah Priest to each extract, placing it in the context of the period and the composer’s work. Detailed annotations explain technical and cultural references.

As a friend of all three composers, but especially of Debussy, Laloy wrote with great authority and influence: his work provides recollections, analytical insights, and insights into reception and performance practice. His erudition and wide range of reference make for fascinating and enlightening reading about the period. Deborah Priest provides a detailed introduction which sets Laloy’s work against the background of the Paris music scene from 1900- 1940.


We provide complimentary e-inspection copies of primary textbooks to instructors considering our books for course adoption.

Request an
e-inspection copy

Share this Title