Irish Elections 1948-77: Results and Analysis: Sources for the Study of Irish Politics 2

1st Edition

Michael Gallagher

Published February 7, 2019
Reference - 424 Pages
ISBN 9781138973343 - CAT# Y208513

For Instructors Request Inspection Copy

was $47.95


SAVE ~$9.59

Add to Wish List
FREE Standard Shipping!


This book is the second in the series Sources for the Study of Irish Politics, which is produced by the Political Studies Association of Ireland (PSAI). The aim of the PSAI is to promote the professional study of politics in and of Ireland, and the aim of the series is to make more widely available material that is at present difficult to obtain.

Building on its predecessor Irish Elections 1922-44: Results and Analysis (1993), this volume assembles the full results of all elections to Dáil Éireann from 1948 to 1977. The book also contains analysis of each election, summaries of votes, percentages and seats for each election, lists of TDs (members of parliament) elected at each election, information on defeated TDs and women TDs, analysis of tranfer patterns, members of govenrment appointed after each election, and the full results of all by-elections held in the period. It also provides summary results of the nine general elections of the period 1981-2007, along with a comprehensive list of TDs 1922-2008.

Elections to Dáil Éireann are held under the PR-STV (single tranferable vote) electoral system, and this volume provides a fascinating account of PR-STV in operation as well as constituting an indispensble record of Irish political history over the middle years of the independent state.


We provide complimentary e-inspection copies of primary textbooks to instructors considering our books for course adoption.

Request an
e-inspection copy

Share this Title