Friedrich A. Hayek: Critical Assessments

1st Edition

John Cunningham Wood, Ronald N. Woods

Published March 7, 1991
Reference - 400 Pages
ISBN 9780415046596 - CAT# RU8781
Series: Critical Assessments of Contemporary Economists


Add to Wish List
FREE Standard Shipping!


F.A. Hayek studied at the University of Vienna, where he became both a Doctor of Law and a Doctor of Political Science. After several years in the Austrian civil service, he was made the first diector of the Austrian Institute for Business Cycle Research. In 1931 he was appointed Tooke Professor of Economics and Statistics at the London School of Economics, and in 1950 he went to the University of Chicago as Professor of Social and Moral Sciences. He returned to Europe in 1962, to the chair of Economics at the University of Freiburg, where he became Professor Emeritus in 1967.
The holder of numerous honorary doctorates, and a member of the British Academy, Hayek was awarded the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economics in 1974. He was created Companion of Honour in 1984. He is the author of some fifteen books, including Prices and Production, The Pure Theory of Capital, The Road to Serfdom, The Counter-Revolution of Science, The Sensory Order, The Constitution of Liberty, Law, Legislation and Liberty, and The Fatal Conceit.

Share this Title