Buddhist Thought in India: Three Phases of Buddhist Philosophy

1st Edition

Edward Conze

Published February 12, 2008
Reference - 302 Pages
ISBN 9780415460989 - CAT# RU52404
Series: Routledge Library Editions: Buddhism

was $185.00


SAVE ~$37.00

Add to Wish List
FREE Standard Shipping!


Originally published in 1962.

This book discusses and interprets the main themes of Buddhist thought in India and is divided into three parts:

  1. Archaic Buddhism: Tacit assumptions, the problem of "original Buddhism", the three marks and the perverted views, the five cardinal virtues, the cultivation of the social emotions, Dharma and dharmas, Skandhas, sense-fields and elements.
  2. The Sthaviras: the eighteen schools, doctrinal disputes, the unconditioned and the process of salvation, some Abhidharma problems.
  3. The Mahayana: doctrines common to all Mahayanists, the Madhyamikas, the Yogacarins, Buddhist logic, the Tantras.




Share this Title